Key Questions

  • Answer:

    Refer to the explanation.


    During the S-phase of interphase, the DNA is replicated, forming two identical sets of DNA. At the beginning of mitosis, the DNA condenses and coils into structures called chromosomes. Each chromosome exists as a pair of identical sister chromatids connected by a centromere.

    During metaphase of mitosis, spindle fibers direct the movement of the pairs of sister chromatids to the cell's equatorial plane.

    The next phase is anaphase, during which one chromatid from each pair moves to opposite poles of the cell. At this point the chromatids are now individual chromosomes, and there are now two identical sets of chromosomes.

    During telophase and cytokinesis, the cell divides into two cells, each with identical sets of chromosomes.

  • Mitosis cell division occurs to mend the cells which wear off naturally and it it's also essential for the replacement of the cells which die due to injuries. This type of cell division is the key reason for growth.

  • Answer:

    Mitosis is a type of cell division that results in two identical daughter cells.


    Mitosis occurs in all somatic (body) cells. There are four phases of mitosis (PMAT) ~

    1) Prophase
    2) Metaphase
    3) Anaphase
    4) Telophase

    During prophase, the chromosomes form, and the nuclear envelope and the nucleolus are no longer visible.

    During metaphase, the spindle fibers attach themselves to the centromeres and the chromosomes line up at the center of the cell.

    During anaphase, the sister chromatids separate and move to opposite ends of the cell.

    Lastly, during telophase, a nuclear envelope forms around each set of chromosomes, and the chromosomes start to uncoil.

    Then, cytokinesis occurs (however, it is not a phase of mitosis). During cytokinesis, the cytoplasm divides, creating two new daughter cells.